We are Hungry

6 07 2008

Lately, I’ve been really stressed about camp this week and my insane schedule. I had the opportunity to go to a college worship service tonight with a good friend of mine. Those 2 hours were amazing! It was no mistake or coincidence that I was there…God knew just what I needed and when I needed it. This is one of the songs that we sang tonight that really impacted me.

“Lord I want more of You
Living Water rain down on me
Lord I need more of You
LIving breath of Life come fill me up

We are Hungry, we are hungry
we are hungry for more of You
we are thirsty, O Jesus,
We are thirsty for more of You

Lord, I want more of You
Holy Spirit rain down on me
Lord, I need more of You
Living Breath Of Life, come fill me up

We lift our holy hands up
we want to touch You
we lift our voices higher and higher
and higher to You”

–Jeff Deyo

This song hit me harder than anything else in that service. It made me really ask myself, “Am I really hungry for God?” “Am I seeking Him with all that I am?” In facing a potentially crazy week of camp, this has become my prayer and one that I will hold on to for a long time. “Living Breath of Life come and fill me up.” There’s no way I can possibly handle this week of camp on my own…it would fall to pieces. Tonight, God reassured me that He’s already there…He’s in the cabins, the dining hall, the worship center…He’s there. He also reminded me that I need Him to make it through the week…He’s my strength, my joy, my energy…which is an extremely vital part of camp for a leader : ) He is filling and will continue to fill me up as each new day comes. As I have claimed this prayer tonight for myself, I hope and pray that it will be contagious. Pray that the girls attending camp will be instilled with a hunger and thirst for knowing God more…that they will desperately seek Him and His will.


Actions

Information

4 responses

6 07 2008
cjkdennis

Father,

Shower Sarah with so much of your presence that it drips off into her footsteps as she ministers this week. In Jesus’ name!

6 07 2008
Momma

Father God…Rain down upon Sarah as she goes this week. Pour out of the abundance of the love that you have for her to enable her to do ALL THAT YOU HAVE CALLED HER TO DO!!!!! Feed her with Your Holy manna. Fill her thirst with Your Living Water. She is going for a purpose. To be your hands and feet and as she makes herself available for your service, fill her up Lord…Fill her up to overflowing. May Your glory fill ever place she goes. Reveal your majesty and glory to her fresh and a new as she goes in Jesus Name! Be glorified in and through her Lord. I love You, Lord and I love you too Sarah!!! You sure make me one proud Momma! :>}

7 07 2008
Brian

I’m so glad he revealed Himself to you through that worship time. He is such an amazing God that knows just what we need, and then He provides it. In fact, He’s showing up to me right now through you. It’s amazing how He works.
Love ya,
Brian

8 07 2008
"Maggie"

I’m reading Dr. Paul Brand’s book right now called “God’s Forever Feast”. He says that when people go hungry long enough, they no longer feel hungry, and will refuse food offered to them. Only by drips of spoon feeding can they regain the strength to start even feeling hungry again. Lord, spoon-feed us to hunger for real food from you!

Keep at it girl. With God, all things are possible!

Leave a comment